International Dinners

I am experiencing so many amazing things abroad it’s hard to really wrap my head around it all. It’s human nature to appreciate things much more in hindsight than in the present, and I know when I get home I am going to be wowed by what I had the opportunity to experience here. I am trying hard to make sure I am living with gratitude and keeping my eyes open so I don’t get home and kick myself for not appreciating what I have here while I have it. So here is one of the many things I want to reflect on that is such a neat part of my experience, and that is the international dinner. Basically what they entail is a group of people from different places that come together and make a dish that is typical in their country. I have been fortunate enough to experience two of these so far. First with my ESN group and second with some of the people in my corridor in my student house. How often in ones life do you get to sit down with people from all over the world and eat food from their countries? Once in a lifetime if one is lucky. And boy am I lucky.

Here are some of the things I had the opportunity to try:

  • Bangers and Mash from England
  • Schnitzel from Czech Republic
  • An apple dessert from Germany
  • Poutine from Canada
  • A chocolate dessert from Brazil
  • Stir fry from Hong Kong
  • A potato dish from Hungary
  • Crepes from Hungary
  • And omelets from Spain

My contribution each time was the classic banana split.

From the first international dinner

Intl Dinner ESN 6

And the second international dinner

10006422_10152458986971055_1142340861_n Intl Dinner Intl Dinner 2

These dinners are truly a treasure during this amazing study abroad experience.

“A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions.” -Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr.

2 thoughts on “International Dinners

  1. I think studying abroad helps you live in the moment…that has been my experience so far in South Africa! What better way to do that than through food? The food in this post looks just amazing! Keep enjoying 🙂

Leave a Reply

