Fundraising Goal: Achieved and Surpassed!

Thank you so much Lisa for not only helping me reach my fundraising goal, but also surpassing it! I say this with one very grateful heart, words cannot express my appreciation. I’ve spent the past three months fundraising and it brings me so much gratitude to everyone who donated to be able to say that I went over my goal. As so many unexpected expenses have arisen it helps me out immensely to have raised a little extra.

In these last five days I have before I leave I am busy getting things in order. I’ve arranged a few more purchases once I arrive in Groningen, things students are selling before they leave. It’s encouraging to be finding that I can get things second hand and therefore cheaper than I had been anticipating. I have a plan for my cell phone, I am going to put it on a seasonal standby for the duration of my time abroad, so I will strictly be using it when I have access to WiFi. This way I can still iMessage, email, and Skype on my phone but I will not be racking up international charges. Doing this will cost me $8 a month, which is significantly cheaper than the alternative. Then once I get to Groningen I will find a pay as you go phone to have for emergencies and contact within Europe. I cancelled my gym membership and have my auto insurance set up to go on a freeze the day that I leave. My finances are in order, my cards are ready to be used internationally, and I already have my Dutch bank account situated. The University of Groningen offers a great service to international students, they have a partnership with a bank that allows students to apply while still in their home country then activate their account at the welcoming ceremony once they arrive. This will be a great help because I won’t have to rack up ATM and conversion charges, instead I can primarily use my local bank. All I have left to do is pack and get in a lot of quality time with my loved ones!

Five days to go, can you believe it???

 

“The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure.  The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.” -Chris McCandless

Leave a Reply

