ONE MONTH

I can’t believe how quickly time has passed. I still vividly remember the moment I decided to pursue this, and thinking what patience I would need to have to wait eight months for it to happen. Now here we are, seven months down in the blink of an eye. This experience has grown my perspective on time; that if I don’t fixate on my want for the future, I will find that time passes all the same and the future is never as far away as it seems.

In the past seven months I have gone from a mind set on going to England to a heart filled with love for The Netherlands, a sense of home for a place I have yet to see with my own eyes. I conquered another semester of school, even getting the best grades of my college career despite having one very sidetracked mind. (It’s a little hard to focus on schoolwork when you’re preparing to leave the country for an extended period of time.) I’ve jumped through hoop after hoop and obstacle after obstacle that has come my way in this process. Now here we are, so close I can almost taste it.

I’m striving to enjoy every phase of life, live in the moment recognizing I will never have it again. This comes so far from naturally for me, but in my journey to study abroad I can honestly say I have grown in this area. Now with a month left until my adventure of a lifetime I hope to enjoy every moment I have left with my friends and family here, to not take for granted the things I will surely miss while I am away.

“Act in the moment, live in the present, slowly slowly don’t allow the past to interfere, and you will be surprised that life is such an eternal wonder, such a mysterious phenomenon and such a great gift that one simply feels constantly in gratitude.” -Osho

Leave a Reply

