Woes of a Procrastinator

My how my to-do list snuck up on me, it wasn’t that long ago when I had all summer to prepare for study abroad and here I am a week into fall semester with less than half of my to-do’s completed. I had intended on having my application completed and submitted, my passport in the mail, 30 scholarships applied for and my fundraising letter typed up and ready to go before my first class. In actuality I had roughly 10 scholarships applied for and, yep, that’s about it. They say time starts to go faster as you get older and I can certainly attest to that. It was only when my mom asked me how the study abroad progress was coming along that I realized how little I had accomplished and that I only had five weeks to get my application submitted.

Fortunately I’ve always worked better under pressure; I find it less a task to conjure up motivation when I don’t have a lot of time to look for it. So in the last week I have contacted and nailed down my academic referrals, got all the necessary paperwork together, made my appointment to get my passport, applied for four more scholarships, put together a new (more realistic) list for scholarships to apply for, and attempted to submit my study abroad application. Apparently the study abroad office let the summer pass them by as well because their website isn’t ready to take applications for spring 2014. I should be able to submit my application within the next couple of weeks when it’s up and running (let’s hope anyway seeing as how they are due October 1, glad I’m not the only slacker here). I’m still debating between the Netherlands and Australia for my second option, I’m about ready to use the tried and true heads or tails method because I can’t seem to make up my mind. I figure no matter which one I put down, I will go where I am meant to go, God willing.

As exciting as all of this is, it’s hard to truly be excited when it’s all relatively in the air. I am really looking forward to getting everything submitted and finding out mid-October where life is going to take me. It will be a new era of this process when it can feel more real and attainable. But like I said, I’m coming to realize how fast life flies by so in the meantime I intend on enjoying every part of this journey.

“Sometimes you are aware when your great moments are happening, and sometimes they rise from the past. Perhaps it’s the same with people.” James Salter

Leave a Reply

