Intentions

For as long as I can remember when I pictured my college experience I saw myself spending time abroad. This always seemed like a romanticized dream that I never put any real thought into, but my desire to do so never subsided. Entering into my junior year of college I have found the determination to make it happen. Certain life events have prompted me to follow my dreams and spend a semester abroad. Getting there is going to be a journey, and although the destination is amazing, the path to get there is vital in its own right. I not only want to remember all that I experience abroad, I also want to remember what it took to get me there and what I learned along the way. That is why I am choosing to document all of it. Memories fade and are warped, but printed words provide an avenue to revisit experiences too soon forgotten. My intention with this blog is to keep me accountable to do just that. I can’t count how many journals I’ve started and only made it a few pages in. My hope is this venue provides a different form of motivation to keep me writing things down. Along with that, maybe it will provide insight for anyone else considering spending time abroad. I personally really enjoy reading about others experiences with it and would love to share my story as well. So if you’re ready and willing, join me as I embark on a journey to a world outside my own.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”  -Mark Twain

2 thoughts on “Intentions

  1. I love the concept of this blog! I hope you enjoy your time abroad (and getting there). I never studied abroad, and it’s one of the few things I regret about my college experience – not that I can’t still travel, but it’s certainly a unique experience during undergrad!

Leave a Reply

